Saturday 1 February 2014. Exploring the Edge between Brave and Stupid

Had another schedule gap this morning and of course was eager to get a ride in. The clever picture on my weather ap at 6:45 was of apparently bouncing little spheres: freezing rain was my guess. The temperature was 34 degrees F (downright warm, especially for this time of day!), and the darkness from all the clouds made it seem earlier than it was.

Thought about riding to Weaver Park, which I’ve passed a number of times recently and wondered what it’s looking like inside. But that would mean riding on Main Street, which involves crossing some relatively busy intersections and didn’t want to factor that element in with the weather as it was.

The moment I got outside realized this would be a “down the street” ride, if that.

20140201-075425.jpg
The rain was more than a drizzle and the street was shiny with ice. Decided I needed to wear a poncho, suited up, and carefully took Blue down the driveway and into the street.

Slowly, slowly, made my way over the ice-covered bricks. Really, though, think it was easier than walking. Thought, “Skating, skating, just like the Winter Olympics!”
Then thought, “What if I fall?” Was able to convince myself there wasn’t much horizontal momentum and I’m not that far from the ground, so as long as a speeding car doesn’t run me over, how bad could it be?

Yet also thought–“Is this brave or is it stupid?” Decided it was limited enough that it would be neither extremely brave nor stupid. But it made me think that so often the line is not so clear.

But there was no day-dreaming! My focus just could not leave the icy street under my wheels. Now here is a way to do meditation; monkey mind doesn’t stand a chance on a slippery street au velo!

Made it to the coffee shop and sat down to write this!

On the way home through the thick, wet slush, was strongly reminded of playing in the snow as a child. Also thought of being out in a boat on the (Rock, was it? Illinois?) river in the rain in the days when I was a field biologist. Really felt for this little while that I was playing in the weather; it felt fresh and intensely joyful.

20140202-232551.jpg
Just hoped it wouldn’t be too damaging to the bike.

Leave a comment