Friday 22 June 2012. Limited Memory, and Smells

This morning, after too much neglect, decided to make sure Discovery’s tires were fully inflated and the chain lubed. What a difference it made, I’m embarrassed to say.  My knees aren’t so bad after all!  I aspire but guess I have a way to go before I can call myself a diligent, serious cyclist.

In the clear morning at this beginning of shortening daylight, noticed that the scent of linden seems to have departed for the year. Some garden flowers are so fragrant you can smell them as you pass on a bike, like petunias and lilies. But they don’t fill the neighborhood like linden, and, in my opinion, they are not quite so lovely. The passing of the linden bloom is one more marker of the passing of time.

Speaking of flowers and fragrance, I remembered that day lilies, which are in bloom now, have a wide variety of fragrance (though

Late June day lilies

you can’t smell them from a bike): some are strongly fragrant, some barely, and some don’t really smell at all.  I admit I am much less a fan of day lilies than of, say, tulips or irises, but it’s fun to sniff a variety of them and see which ones are fragrant.

Noticed at one garden full of fragrant lilies that the Liatris (blazing star) were in full bloom.  I’ve seen them before at

Garden Liatris with background lilies

Meadowbrook but so far haven’t spotted any in bloom there.

When I stopped to get a shot of day lilies along the bike lane, realized I’d forgotten to replace the camera’s SD card, and that the internal memory only had a few shots.  Well, that would make the trip faster, anyway.

Did get one pre-disc sunrise shot.  The disc itself escaped my view this morning: didn’t “get the prize.”  Amazing how one can be

Sunrise w/ purple coneflowers

right out there and actually miss seeing it!  Well, it’s not like there aren’t a lot of other things to look at.  The bergamont (Monarda)/ yellow coneflowers were lovely: the yellow/pink-purple becoming more abundant.  Interestingly, there are fewer yellow coneflowers and almost none of the bergamont in the middle of the big loop (that was burned early this spring) by the observation platform. I wonder if it’s just an artifact of the restoration planting or whether there are microhabitats in the park, or maybe the burn schedule, that favor different collections of species in different places.

Just east of the little bridge on the south side of the big loop, again found myself really close to a deer.  I stopped but didn’t get out the camera; I have a bunch of deer closeups already, and there were not many shots left.  The deer (presumably a doe) stood still and looked at me a little while but then seemed uneasy and turned away, so I went on.

Still could see a fair number of blooming spiderwort. They have an amazingly long bloom.  More rosinweeds were blooming.

Late June spiderwort

Some of the compass plants had blooms not just on the top but also farther down their stalks.

Below the playground bridge there was a frog, it seemed like in the very place and position I’d seen it at least three or four times before.  Had it been there that whole time?  Watched for beavers and ducks but didn’t see any.  Did, however, have a brief conversation about the beavers with a couple of people walking around the park whose path went over the bridge.  The sound of our voices probably kept the beaver away, though the bullfrog who gave a sample of his singing didn’t seem to mind.

The place where something smelled dead yesterday smelled even worse today.  Wondered if I should call the Urbana Public Works or Park District or something, but surely I’m not the only one who’s noticed this.

About Velo du Jour

I am a 61 year old mom/wife, former biologist, and presently certified Iyengar yoga teacher, and I love, besides biking (and other things), nature, swimming, drawing, photography, yarn, exploring adoption themes, and putting people at ease. In April 2012, I participated in "30 Days of Biking "http://30daysofbiking.com/ on Twitter, sponsored by a group of "joyful cyclists" in Minneapolis during the month of April. I loved tweeting about each day's ride so much I didn't want to stop! "Velo du Jour" is a continuation of recording and sharing my rides post-30 Days of Biking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

